TNS-12557 TNS-12560 TNS-00527

 

As part of Security enhancement on TEST database Server (Linux 64 bit) SA changed the permission on /tmp/.oracle to drwxrwx— after the change, listener stopped working, though the process is alive I could see the process id but unable to connect from the client.

 

Oracle MOS ID: 343253.1  helped us to resolve this issue

 

LSNRCTL> status

Connecting to (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=IPC)(KEY=EXTPROC1521)))

TNS-12557: TNS:protocol adapter not loadable

TNS-12560: TNS:protocol adapter error

  TNS-00527: Protocol Adapter not loadable

 

Connecting to (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)(HOST=test)(PORT=1521)))

TNS-12557: TNS:protocol adapter not loadable

TNS-12560: TNS:protocol adapter error

  TNS-00527: Protocol Adapter not loadable

 

Solution:  As root user

$ cd /tmp

$ ls -ld .oracle

 

$ chmod 01777 .oracle

If owner and group has also changed during the security enhancement implementation then revert it to root:root

 

Cheers !!!

Raheel

About Raheel Syed

Oracle DBA
This entry was posted in Troubleshooting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to TNS-12557 TNS-12560 TNS-00527

  1. Preethi says:

    Hi Raheel,

    Preethi Here form Wipro (ex-collegaue). Hope you remember me.

    Can I know which version we can see .oracle in /tmp. I had checked in Oracle 10g/11g and 9i as well.

    Regards,
    Preethi

    • Raheel Syed says:

      Hi Preethi,

      Yes I remember you. How are you doing ?

      Thanks for writing.

      Files under /tmp/.oracle or /var/tmp/.oracle are special ‘socket’ files used by local clients to connect via IPC including Listener. It should not be specific to Oracle releases.

      Regards
      Raheel Syed

  2. Charlie says:

    I am doing something freaky. I am trying to run a second copy of the same database on the same system in a container.

    The container is launched like this:

    systemd-nspawn -bD /home/orabox –bind-ro=/usr/lib64 –bind-ro=/home/oracle/Ora12c/db

    The database will start, but the listener will not. It seems to be ignoring my listener.ora completely (I have the network/admin directory soft linked to ~oracle/admin-Ora12c – this works for dbs).

    I wish I could figure this out.

  3. ojas says:

    Hi Raheel
    Thanks for sharing
    It helped me a lot…

Leave a comment